Hit a road bump. Any advice? [Can't start major]

Hello everyone.

My name is Jordan, this is my first post, and I’m absolutely already asking for advice.

Here’s a quick summary. Was in the Army, fell in love with design, quit the Army to go back to school, spent a year at CC to prove I’m a better student, got straight A’s, applied to the University of Washington, got accepted.

Now, I went to the advisor the other day to register for my classes and was quite bluntly told I can’t study ID because I didn’t go to the design workshop that was held a month before I was accepted, and I have to wait until Fall 2016. She said it’s not so bad because I’ll probably want to change my major anyway, and I can just take other classes like “diversity class.” I wanted to slap her. Why would I change my major? All I’ve been working for is this. I should pay for another year of general classes for the chance to study?

So here I am, with that option, or something else. That’s what I’d love to hear: what else can I do? I’ve been reading design books to try and build work but I’m just lacking real understanding and guidance, which is what I want from school.

My dream is to attend Art Center, but I understand how competitive it is and I want to have something better to show them.

I’ve considered applying to the Academy of Art College in SF, or taking the Product Design certificate course at Pasadena City College.

Here are a few sketches to show how lost I am:

And because I believe in branding as a whole experience, here are some little videos I made to experiment with music and words:

kiss on Vimeo [this was for class. I sketched and watercolored each frame on vellum]

Help me, Obi Wan Kanobies, your my only hope.

Hey Jordan,

If your ultimate goal is to go to Art Center then I recommend looking into Art Center at night, it’s a straight shot into their program.