Love Industrial Design; No Background

Hello All!

Fairly recently, I withdrew from a dual Masters degree program in Law and Business. I was about two weeks in by the time I realized how completely wrong Law and Business were for me. However, as I was struggling with whether to continue with law, I began looking hard to find what my true passion was.

I started sketching, a lot. At the time, it was a means for de-stressing myself from reading, but as I continued with it, I realized I just really loved being able to create. That is what led me to industrial design; I am fascinated by the magic of turning ideas into real things and passionate about using my imagination to make change. Moreover, I am incredibly excited by the design process and the opportunity to get better and better at it.

I am now considering pursuing a masters degree in Industrial Design, but am unsure about how to best prepare for that route. I have an undergraduate degree in Political Science and Economic, was a high performance athlete (National Team and NCAA level), but have zero background in art, architecture, or design.

I would love to pursue a career in Industrial Design and/or Design Consulting. Could anybody help me with suggestions of where/how to get started?

I am a telecommunication engineer and I absolutely love ID too.I took a break after I graduated to pursue my interests and started out by joining this brilliant course called Delft Design Approach on edx.org.They’ll be starting this course again in September mostly and its free.There are so many online design courses and I think that’s where you should begin your design basics.