Stanford vs. SVA Products of Design

Hi Everyone,

I’m a prospective Design School Grad student who is looking for some advice on this comparison, based on my needs.

My background is manufacturing engineering and I’m looking to make a switch into design (I’m really interested in topics of interaction/responsible/systems/speculative/experience design). Lately, I have also been drawn to graphic design.

I’ve spent the past year taking foundational design courses at various design schools, building up my portfolio. I’m incredibly fortunate to have been admitted to some great schools. My top choices are SVA, Stanford, RISD MID, RCA/Imperial Innovation Design Engineering, and Art Center Media Design Practices. I received small scholarships to RISD and Art Center and I was waitlisted at Stanford.

Since then, I’ve been able to more or less narrow my list down to going to SVA this Fall or waiting a year to reapply to Stanford. Also, IIT MDes has popped up on my radar for strategy reasons and it does look practical/technical and interesting. Any thoughts on this program?

Over the past several weeks, I have been spending a lot of time speaking to students on both sides and I’ve gathered a few general points on each school. Please correct me, if I’m mistaken.

SVA Products of Design
A current, professional-readiness oriented program that is an intense project-based engagement in a variety of areas of design. It’s like a 21st century design program in the heart of NYC. It seems like it’s most about building up yourself as a responsible designer.

Pros
-Incredibly progressive and the vision of the program is very compelling
-Located in NYC with amazing networking opportunities
-Supportive chair of the program
-Strong curriculum, with wide exposure to different areas of design
-Professional, working faculty from top design firms
-Lots of potential for exposure
-Impressive student work

Cons
-No skills taught
-No learning flexibility (choice of classes)