Carnegie Mellon Switching Majors

I’m currently a sophomore Finance major at CMU, but recently discovered that I want to concentrate on designing and bringing a product to market. So I currently have a few options that I am considering:

1. I could take design courses to build up my portfolio and simply finish my degree a year early and go straight to grad school. Considering CMU’s master of product development (now called integrated innovation for products and services) and Penn’s Integrated Product Design. Both programs require a portfolio review, GRE scores, transcripts,etc. If I pursue this path, my undergrad would be a total of 3 years and then 1 or 2 years in the masters program mentioned (if I get accepted).

2. Switch majors to Mechanical Engineering which I understand is the more traditional path who wants to get into product development. If I do this path, I might still graduate on time, or slightly later. So my undergrad would be a total of 4-5 years. I do not think I will go to grad school immediately if I do this.

I am asking this board because I am sure there are many engineers/designers here with the career that I hope to seek. Right now, I am uncertain if I want to be the one to actually MAKE the products, but I do know for sure that I want to be involved in bringing a new product to market. Whether it be in terms of handling the marketing, financing,etc. I’m considering switching to mechanical engineering as I feel that is the broader and safer choice, but it would definitely a pain.