Is Industrial Design For Me?

I am currently a Sophomore in College and I am thinking about changing majors from Computer Engineering to ID. I am finding out that CEG is not for me. I love building and tinkering with stuff but my sketching skills are abysmal at best and the best people I can draw are stick figures, is that going to hurt me? I want to make an impact on this world and it would bring me great joy to see something that I helped make be used by millions of people.

I am very excited and I am really motivated to do well in ID. I am transferring from Wright State University to a CC until I can get my GPA up and go to University of Cincinnati DAAP program because I am from Cincinnati and it is close to home. Can anyone recommend some books to help me learn to sketch and find out more info about ID in general? Also what does it take to really do well in this career?

My drawing was pretty crappy when I started ID. It’s not so much about being the best sketcher in the room as much as it is about being able to communicate your thoughts both verbally and visually. Having strong understanding of your users, coworkers, clients, manufacturers, and being able to successfully communicate with them is probably one of the most important skills to have. By the way, having computer engineering skills is always a plus in the industry. Having your specialty is good; while you may not become the best sketcher, you should find your expertise in something. Sketching is a matter of practicing a lot.

Great sketching resources:
How to Draw - Scott Robertson
Design Sketching - Klara Sjölén
idsketching.com - Spencer Nugent

The resources available to improve whatever skill you so desire are literally all online. Video tutorial is a far superior learning tool when compared with paper, ink, still images and text…

If you have access to the internet, why would you need books to learn how to improve your drawing skills?