Where to start?

Hey guys!

So I will be entering NC State in the fall, to the First Year College program. Basically, that’s where people who don’t have a solid idea of the major they want to pursue go. We get a year to explore and sort of figure it out.

I thought I wanted to be a Software Designer. I have been pretty dead set on that for awhile now, but I’m just beginning to realize how much I love Industrial Design. I constantly find myself thinking of how things are made and why they’re made that way and how they could be improved. This has led me to want to go after ID as a major instead, and possibly minor in Software Design. I find them both quite intriguing, but I know the processes behind each are, for the most part, completely different.

Anyways, the problem is this: NC State has one of the most competitive design schools in the country, and I don’t have a portfolio of any sort. I haven’t taken any kind of art class since elementary school, so my drawing and sketching skills aren’t quite proficient at this point. The most recent class I took to be pushed in design at all was Drafting during my 10th grade year. I have ideas all the time, but I can’t really put them on paper because I don’t have the skill at this point. Pretty frustrating. So that leads me into my question…

Where should I start? I truly am interested in pursuing design, but I need some advice about how to go about the year I’m given before attempting to transfer into the College of Design.

Thanks!

Hi Jordan,

Does NC State need a portfolio for you to switch majors or will you be all set?