Transferring from an unrelated subject

I am an American first-year student studying politics in the UK. I’m planning on transferring back to the US next year for a variety of reasons, one of which being my interest in ID. The problem is that I have very little artistic experience and no portfolio. I’ve been practicing my sketching recently and have been learning Photoshop and Illustrator, but there’s no way I can assemble an acceptable portfolio by the time transfer applications are due. Because of this, I’m looking at transferring as undeclared to several schools with ID programs and improving my skills enough to enter the major in my junior year. I’m looking at UIUC, UIC, Iowa State, Purdue, Virginia Tech, Ohio State, and NC State.

Can you guys give me any tips to help me improve enough to be competitive for an ID major? Also, if any alumni or current students of these schools could tell me a little about the program and the environment, that’d be great. I know I’m in a pretty bad position right now, but I really want to make this happen and am willing to put in as much work as necessary.

Thanks to everyone reading, and I hope to join your ranks one day!

I’d throw University of Cincinnati into your list. It’s a top ranked ID program and there is no portfolio requirement.

I’m on the fence with Cincinnati because of the abysmal 4-year graduation rate (21 percent). Is this rate better for ID students?

I’d rather have taken another year in school to get my skills up to a higher level than get out a year early and have to look for a job with a sub par portfolio… :wink: