Transfer Dilemma

Hey everyone,

For the past year I’ve been considering transferring to a more energetic and competitive program in the transportation design field. I think I’ve come a long way in the past year, and I want to compete with the best for the best jobs, and right now I don’t think that the curriculum at my current school is up to date and the environment is subpar. After visiting Art Center I was pretty blown away with the student work, instructors, facilities and especially the curriculum being covered.

To be blunt, I don’t think I have a shot making it in the industry where I’m currently studying. The skill level for transportation design is exploding, and I believe my school is falling further and further behind as we continue to hold on to 10-15 year old curriculum. I’m looking at transferring to Art Center or CCS in Detroit. Financially, I am battling with myself if this is worth it. I’ve spent almost $54k for tuition and housing being in SF for a year and a half of schooling, and transferring to ACCD or is CCS going to add a serious chunk of loans on top of that.

I’m trying to gather some outside input on my situation. A part of me wants to take a semester off and really put together some good work and hopefully get a scholarship to either schools. Another option is just switching to product design; it’s the more financially intelligent situation, but I really don’t want to give up on transportation design. It has taken over my life and I’m absolutely positive I have what it takes to make it.

Any opinions are appreciated!

Thanks,
Aaron

I think ACCD and CCS are good places to be if you want to increase your chances of landing a job in trans. It can happen anywhere, but certainly being at one of those schools will increase your odds.

Hello all,

I am a sophomore ID student in Seattle. The ID program where I am at is 2 years long with an additional year of design foundations which I am currently doing.