Getting into Design

I’m looking to get into ID but have no experience, I studied economics in school and currently work at a tech company in Boston. I have no portfolio and have no idea where to start. I know I’m not giving you very much information but I’m just looking for a any type of guidance or a direction to go in. Should I start learning on my own (if so how)?, go back to school for a masters? (lack of a portfolio wouldn’t help my chances of getting in I would imagine). I mean no disrespect to all of you who have been in the industry for years, I certainly don’t think I can just jump into it, I know it is very difficult to be good at and takes time to develop skill. I’m am willing to devote a lot to pursuing this because it’s worth it. Any advice would be helpful.

I am in the same boat, I’ll share what I’ve found so far over the past few months.

My background is in Industrial Tech/Engineering so there’s less of a gap between what I’ve studied and ID compared to Economics. I rooted around online and I found some people in the various design disciplines (Industrial, Graphic, Interaction, etc) and took them out for coffee to pick their brains. I’d recommend you do the same really…I found it very, very helpful and who knows, those connections may help down the road.

About half of them were like myself; graduated, and found themselves in boring, meaningless, soul-sucking corporate work. However the ones who did not have ID degrees, with only a couple exceptions, did go back for one. They said chances of success are much greater if you do so, not only because of what you learn but because it shows you can collaborate with people and work on real, live projects through internships and such. And it makes sense, really.

But. BUT.