Game Industry?

Hello, I’m strongly considering to get my bachelors degree - but I’m uncertain of what area in design to study that will lead to my desired career path.

I’m in my early 30s. I’ve always been drawn to entertainment and gaming. I’m currently a photographer and designer in interactive media and web. A friend of mine who is a product designer suggested that I study Industrial Design and that my artistic, drawing and 3D skills would be an asset.

My question is, can a degree in Industrial Design lead to careers in the entertainment and gaming industry? I considered pursing studies in Game Design but after some research found that the design foundation in such courses were somewhat lacking in comparison with Industrial Design. Also, I’ve always found ID in and of itself quite fascinating and would like to have the option to work in the ID field if I chose too.

The best choice for this would probably be Art Center in Pasadena. It is very expensive, but has the most ties to entertainment design. Typically the skill sets are a little different. You will have to specialize and work hard at that specialization to land work in entertainment, which tends to be on a project by project contract basis (ie per film)

Another option is Feng Zhu’s School of Design in Singapore, although both Art Center and FZD will require a portfolio.

I appreciate the suggestions but schools like Gnomon or the Art Centre are well over my budget. FZD has a focus on concept art for entertainment and while that’s fine it isn’t exactly what I had in mind. RISD seemed like a good choice, but again, the expense isn’t realistic for me.