Finally Found Industrial Design- What Do I Do Next?

Hey everyone. Okay, so this is my very first post on this site and I have to say I’m pretty excited. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been fascinated by the process of innovation: the way in which people conceptualize products, how they go about doing it, and eventually successfully bringing it to market in an environmentally sustainable, economically profitable way. These are the people who create the future and I find that so exciting.

However, I’m in a bit of a conundrum. Here’s my situation: I’m currently a Schreyer Honors student majoring in English, and retaining my status as a Schreyer student is contingent upon my remaining an English major. However, like most ambitious and curious students my age, deciding upon a major and sticking to that major is somewhat challenging.

And yet, remaining apart of the Schreyer Honors community is something extremely important to me. I’ve worked hard to get here and I don’t want to jeopardize that. I’ve consulted with a few of my advisers from Penn State and they have pointed my in your direction. So, I was wondering if minoring in say, Product Realization is actually even possible for someone outside the realm of engineering. Although I’m a Liberal Arts person at heart, I’ve always been fascinated about the process of innovation. I really could go on and on about industrial design, but instead I’ll ask another question. Would this minor be enough of a foundation if I wanted to pursue Industrial Design for Graduate School? Any and all feedback is soo appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Start at the beginning. If you’re committed, start at the beginning. Get yourself into a solid Design school, and get your Bachelors. Getting your Masters won’t give you the proper foundation to be successful. Best of luck.