Student Jobs/Intern Position

I am looking for a summer job. I am currently an industrial design student in Toronto. Although the course i’m taking hasn’t really taught us much ID. So I was wondering the best way to get a summer job at a design firm paying or not. Amy advise? Thanks

Hey ID85

In my experiences, I find that a lot has to do with timing. Right now (January) would be a good time to apply for summer positions. A lot of companies determine their budgets for the new year, and therefore may invest to hire someone . Other companies may hire because there is a lot of work coming in and they need an extra designer. Watch the market, do your research, and listen to what’s going on in the economy.

Other than that, applying to a design job is similar to applying to any other job. Cold-calling, by far, would be the BEST way to land a job, because you could find out a contact person (ie. designer) to deal with personally, rather than a person in HR who may or may not know exactly what you do and what your skill set is.

When you actually talk to a designer, ask them if they are hiring… and even if they aren’t hiring, ask them if they would be willing to help you out in becoming a better designer. Arrange meetings with him/her and develop a relationship. It’s always good to network (and esp. be nice to ANYONE you meet) because you never know who THEY might know…

You could also try the “drop-in” technique where you walk right in to a studio and ask if you could drop your resume/portfolio package to the designer. If the person at the front desk tells you that they’ll do it for you, then DON’T BE PUSHY, but ask them what the designer’s name is, so that when you do a follow-up call, you’ll know who to ask for.